1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to Linux

Discussion in 'Installing Linux' started by Zuldrak, Sep 12, 2015.

1. Zuldrak

Zuldrak New Member

Sorry if i posted this in the wrong forum section i did use the search option and nothing showed up for me.Hi all I am new to linux.Here is my problem/question.

I have a dell dimension e521 desktop yeah i know haha smh poor guy but wait it gets better i have windows vista 32 bit on it yes i know i feel like one of those guys that just got the crapped kicked outta them by the hero badass in those action movies and im licking my wounds from it.

What distro would you guys recommend to me for this i have 3.2gigs of ram amd processor and radeon 5450 graphics card in there this will be used to play unreal tournament 3 and KOTOR 2 on pc and the elder scrolls games i think i maybe able to do oblivion not sure and i do want to play the older ones eventually SKYRIM WITH MODS (DROOLS).What do you all recommend for me PLEASE HELP ME OUT and Thank you
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2015
  2. Daerandin

Daerandin Well-Known Member

Home page:
    The choice of distro is a very personal choice, but for a newcomer to Linux then I would recommend Linux Mint because it is quite easy to use, and the default Cinnamon desktop will seem familiar to a Windows user. Linux Mint and Ubuntu are almost identical, the biggest difference lies in the visual look, oh and Mint automatically installs some useful software like Java, Flash and codecs.

Both Linux Mint and Ubuntu have different "flavors" that come with a different dekstop environment, which just means it will look different. You can have a look at both websites for Ubuntu and Mint, there are screenshots available so you have a look at what looks interesting to you.