1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What the @%%#$**%*%##@ is Fedora 19 up to!?

Discussion in 'General Linux Discussion' started by Daniel~, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I gave F-19 a try and decided to reinstall it ....but first I had to UN-install it!! Getting rid of it is proving almost impossible...OK so far it is impossible!

    I've formatted all my drives and reinstalled from back up. I still get a FEDORA choice and a Fedora UEFI in my start up menu. I reset my BIOS to defaults, it's still there!!

    With ZERO Fedora on my drives it It's still in my BOIS AFTER a reset tio defaults...it's still there!

    With all my drives, even my DVD drive disconnected...it's still there!!!

    what the hell is fedora doing in my BOIS??? And how the hell can I get rid of it?

    Both "UEFI OS" and Fedora are the remains. What's a real PITA is that Clonezilla often can't properly restore a drive if it has changed from say sda1 to say sdc1...which with the two fedoras in the boot order is what is happening and I can't restore my Debain drive... HELP me before I kill my Fedrora dvd!!

    In the last six months I must have installed and removed at lest a dozen , maybe two dozen destros...never seen anything like this mess before!

    What the hell is Fedora doing? What the hell should I do?
    (The last pic is me blowing my desktop!...Not that anyone cares...LOL

    Attached Files:

  2. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
  3. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Very strange that I've never seen this with Ubuntu, just fedora... I'll give it a try. the problem is that it changes my boot order and then I can't do restores...should anything go wrong...So I boot to my Mint 15 (Ubuntu) and carry this out in terminal from there (Ubuntu disk)?

    Kind of scary having ANYONE or ANYTHING getting into and messing with my BOIS!!
  4. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Yeah, if you are able to boot to Mint then you can do this from the terminal there.
  5. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I can boot to my drives...I just tried to get rid of the intruders in my bois by resorting to installing my back ups on them went well with three of them but I had to re-build Debain from scratch as My back up couldn't handle the change in the order of my drives.

    I'll just unplugg them as they are now known not to be the problem, fix things if I can then do a fresh back up when things are good again. I though that Fedora must have installed grub on one or more of my other drives Thanks Chris. ":O}
  6. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Safer to do it from DVD , don't want to mess with my drives??
  7. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Why am I always surprized when things work! ":O}

    Attached Files:

  8. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Now I can take another shot at mean 'ol Fedora with her nasty ways! ":O}
  9. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Sounds like Fedora was still listed in Grub even though it was not installed, correct?
  10. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Yes and in my BIOS, But Gizmo showed me (Anther thread if notb this one) how to smoke it! ":O}
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    cool and very strange. I was just wondering if it was Grub?
    Normally Grub sticks around because its installed at the beginning of your hard drive just like bootldr in Windows.
    You won't want to delete it because then you can't boot your operating system.
    But if you install Linux over Windows, Linux will erase bootldr and install Grub in its place.

    Or if you dual-boot Windows and Linux, Grub will still remove bootldr and can boot Windows or Linux itsself.
  12. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    No, it had nothing to do with Grub. Apparently, UEFI BIOSes actually allow for the creation of an 'allowed boot' list in the BIOS.
  13. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Then it laughs and laughs while you go crazy trying to get rid of it off your hard drives while it hides like a snake in your BIOS!! ":O}
  14. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Wow, I didn't realize BIOS had such features. Must be one of those smart BIOS?
  15. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Smart enough to make me look stupid! But not smart enough to survive Gizmo's revenge! ":O}
  16. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Well, I goddasay, I am exceedingly impressed with the job they did with Fedora 19.

    They managed to take a distro that works wonderfully on my lappy, and turn it into something that won't even boot the live CD.
  17. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I've had mixed results with these new distro version and booting USB. Sometimes Fedora would work sometimes it won't.
    Same with Mint as well.
    I'm guessing its because I am usually booting to older hardware with newer distros.
    I may have to start using older versions of Fedora as my rescue USB drive...
  18. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    Thing is, my lappy is only about 3 years old, so I wouldn't really consider it 'older hardware'. It's something to do with the nVidia graphics, I'm pretty sure. There have been reports of users with Lenovo with built-in Intel graphics and nVidia add-on cards with similar issues. Unfortunately, none of the recommended fixes worked for me.
  19. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    You are right, I remember now...
    Problems with graphics erroring.
    I think I had to add -switches to allow basic video to work on older hardware.
  20. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I'm really sorry...I know that you've Cherish your relationship with Fedora for many years. I hope you can get past their fumblings and make it work.

Share This Page