1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

steam tropico 3 fullscreen ?

Discussion in 'PlayOnLinux' started by dem, Sep 23, 2014.

  1. dem

    dem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi,

    TOday I received free version of tropico3, from humble store.

    The problem is that I cannot switch the game to proper full screen.

    If I set POL wine options to "emulate a screen" in windows display tab, the game appears windowed. If I don't check the "emulate screen" option, the game appears stretched without windows borders, but the linux windows manager stays visible.

    I tried both unity (ubuntu 14.04) and XFCE, same problem remains.

    Thanks for your help.
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I check "virtual desktop" in Wine Configuration, then set the desktop resolution to 1024x768
    Then in-game, I will adjust the resolution to match my Linux Desktop. The game should appear fullscreen from then on.
  3. dem

    dem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I believe "virtual desktop" is "emulate screen" in wine options, right ?

    If it's what I think, I already tested it. It doesn't work ;)
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Yes
    Strange, I use it for almost every game I test in PlayOnLinux.
    If you don't use it, I recommend lowering your Desktop resolution and then matching the game resolution to it.
    You still might want to use the checkbox "Capture mouse in fullscreen windows"
  5. dem

    dem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I made new tests tonight, I still cannot play tropico3. Same graphics problems. The weird thing is that tropico3 retail version is supported by POL officialy.

    But I cannot manage to make the steam version work. I tried several versions of wine, and wine settings, it didn't work (and I probably corrupted the POL virtual drive of it, because now when I launch it, I directly obtain a critical error).
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Did I already ask you to disable the Steam In-Game Overlay?
    It causes all sorts of problems in Wine/PlayOnLinux

    It might be time for some debug outputs to see whats going on.
  7. dem

    dem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes overlay is disabled (in fact everything I can disable like advertisements, alerts, etc...in steam is disabled).

    I'll make a new try and post debug tonight. thank you !
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    you can post the debug here if you want... it is related

Share This Page