1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Skyrim NO SOUND

Discussion in 'WINE' started by Aremis, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. Aremis

    Aremis Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just through normal wine. I installed steam in wine, applied the packages I listed earlier, started steam and let it download the client and updates, and installed skyrim in steam through normal wine. No pol, no winetricks, no cedega, no nothing. Just normal wine. Otwer games like balmurs gate 2 enhanced edition and deus ex run fine. Skyrim is the only game I have issues with.
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    By the way, I learned two new things just by reading your posts! Thanks
    Also, Aremis... you aren't stupid at all. Just because you didn't know something doesn't make you stupid.

    I think stupid is more like "I don't want to know how" and continue doing the same thing over and over.

    Back to the audio...
    Try installing some windows libraries like xaudio or xinput
    I have a feeling that Skyrim uses some other kind of DirectX library for audio.
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I think there is either a switch to output debug in Wine or it just automatically outputs in the console... not sure cause I only use PlayOnLinux
  4. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ok. So I take that you are running it from a menu/shortcut then?

    Run the command in terminal, it will give you a long long output of things:
    $ wine path_to_executable

    more practical, do:

    $ wine Steam.exe -no-dwrite &> debug.log

    This will create a file called "debug.log" copy/paste the contents here. For those interested &> among other "operators" are redirections.

    Anyway, I'm expecting the log to be really big since you gotta run Steam first then Skyrim later...
  5. Jenshae

    Jenshae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    vashin likes this.
  6. Jenshae

    Jenshae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2015
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    How are you playing Skyrim without Steam?

    Wine is now compatible with Pulseaudio starting with Wine 1.7.55 and newer
    So definitely try those to see if sound works
  8. Jenshae

    Jenshae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    By not buying it from Steam?

    Thanks for the tip, will look it up. I get a little music as it loads the main menu then it cuts out.
  9. Jenshae

    Jenshae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Code:
    [12/16/15 23:29:10] - Running wine-1.8-rc2 TESV.exe (Working directory : /home/.../.PlayOnLinux/wineprefix/Skyrim/drive_c/Program Files/TSEV Skyrim LE)
    fixme:pulse:AudioRenderClient_GetBuffer 0x15f6b0 Not using pulse locked data: 0 4093/4800 0/4800
    err:eek:le:CoInitializeEx Attempt to change threading model of this apartment from multi-threaded to apartment threaded
    
    Then loads of these:
    fixme:d3d:wined3d_check_device_format_conversion wined3d 0x167950, adapter_idx 0, device_type WINED3D_DEVICE_TYPE_HAL, src_format WINED3DFMT_B8G8R8X8_UNORM, dst_format WINED3DFMT_B8G8R8X8_UNORM stub!
    Where is the post Edit option?
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  10. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    I fixed up your post for you, Jenshae. I've also promoted you so that you should be able to edit your posts.
  11. vashin

    vashin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I used to add xaudio2_6 as a dll override in winecfg to get the voices and sound to work but I think they fixed that in the newer versions of wine.
  12. Jenshae

    Jenshae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Not working either. Tried it with dmusic, dsound, dsynth, dwave and such installed and removed.
    The frustrating thing is that it loads the sound when the Bethesda logo displays then as soon as it hits the main menu it cuts out.
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I thought the only store selling Skyrim was Steam?

    Anyways, your debug shows "not using pulse locked data"
    Not exactly sure what that means, but it might point you in the right direction
  14. Jenshae

    Jenshae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Assuming that I bought it recently.
    It is possible to have Skyrim without Steam, however, in his video (horrible quality, be warned) I quickly saw Steam icons. Mine has nothing to do with Steam at all.

    Still looking into this but have shelved Skyrim for awhile, playing mostly Wurm and EVE.

    Oh, just to mention, also had problems with mods, like skin mods were not showing faces, get a face mod, still nothing, no texture on faces, just a skin colour.
    Got SKSE and SKYUI to help and get mods that need this but managed to break NMM as soon as I installed them.
    Haven't added any other mods and the game does still run (without sound)
  15. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I wouldn't trust the razor installer or crack
    We also don't encourage or support anyone using cracks for games.

    I'm guessing the problems you are experiencing are directly related to using Skyrim without Steam.
    Steam will deliver updates and patches for Skyrim, but without it your game is considered an old version and may not support many mods.

    If you want Skyrim to work correctly, specially in Linux, I suggest using Steam.

    The only time I have used cracks for games is when the DRM makes the game completely unplayable in Linux, but this is for personal use only. All of the Guides here at GamersOnLinux are crack free.
  16. Jenshae

    Jenshae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It is not a crack. It is an old DVD. Apparently, I can add it to Steam but I don't agree with running an extra unnecessary process.

    1.9.3 Wine sound resolved on its own. Bit faint on max sound but it is there.

    Thank you all for so much for all the help and suggestions.

    (Now ... if I can just get the mod manager to work ... (It broke when I added SKSE(which works and the game runs))). :p
  17. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Really? I have the DVD as well and it automatically installs Steam and installs Skyrim from the DVD into Steam. So I don't know how you got a non-Steam version of Skyrim... very strange.

    No problem! Always here to help
  18. Jenshae

    Jenshae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yeah, I got it from a main gaming chain ... but not finding a mention of this batch of DVDs online. I know that when Skyrim splashed down fully; Steam did become mandatory and I did find a Youtube video at the time saying how I can install from my disc, add it to Steam and get the updates.
    It installs with a very normal, Next, Next, Next, Finish. Then I would open Steam and manually add it from there.
    (Wine 1.9.3 also seems to have fixed my face textures from mods not loading)
  19. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Awesome, had no idea Bethseda released a non steam version. That is unique and kinda special release.
    Glad you are able to run it now with Wine 1.9.3
  20. pinky

    pinky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Arch 2017.03.01[Kernel: 4.9.11] 64bit
    Sound server
    (pulseaudio or plain ALSA?)how do i identify my sound server?
    WINE 2.0
    WINE output after running Skyrimdoes this mean my error log?
    Your video card GTX 980
    new arch user, figured out workaround to wiki.archlinux guide
    that works for UEFI firmware [the guide assigns 0700 not ef00]
    installed current stable wine and installed steam in wine.
    installed skyrim, accpeted requests for wine-gecko and wine-mono.
    starting skyrim set the graphics to ultra-high by default.
    pop-up - error: sound device not found. skyrim cannot start

    unless absolutely necessary, would like to avoid arch wiki/forums.
    asking for help there has only resulted in threats and warnings.

Share This Page