1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

One of my new toys

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Robbie, Nov 9, 2013.

  1. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    I pick this thing up. It's dual CPU (I need to take some shots of the inside) Xeon's @ 2.8 I believe. I was going to install server on it but I think the cd rom drive is only cd rom and not dvd. So I'll have to upgrade it or do network installs. Currently I'm going to try MythBuntu on it and see how it does. We have a free copy of 2000 server at the office I can play with if need be.

    I really need to start learning more MS stuff as well as server stuff and this is the tool that will help me.

    Attached Files:

  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Who installs Linux with a CD-ROM anymore? Not me...
    Is that a rack-mount server?
    What kind?

    Very nice man! Enjoy Ubuntu, the only problems you might has is slow windows management because those stinking integrated video chips really suck.
    I have a SuperMicro tower server with Fedora 18 and opening, closing, dragging and moving windows is super slow.
    I even forced Fedora to use Gnome 2 and its still slow.
    I was going to install a video card, but the motherboard doesn't have a standard PC-Express slot.
    Not to mention the slot that is available is so close the CPU shroud that I can't even install a card with a fan.
  3. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    Best thing to do on those boxen without video cards is to use tiling WMs like Openbox or Xmonad if you really, really need a GUI desktop. You will not have any problems with those as far as speed is concerned.
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    How did I know you would say that?
    It doesn't bother me that much, but I'm kinda attached to the functionality of Fedora's Gnome interface.
    But you are totally right, just running Openbox would fix my lag issues.
    I may give it a try, but I'll have to learn the terminal commands to launch my network connections, fwbackup & window manager.
  5. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    I kept getting grub error 2 when booting so I 86'ed the Myth install. I have the 2000 disk and I might start with that. I need to learn this stuff. I'll post pix of the inside soon.
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Dang, don't let it stop you, try a stable Ubuntu LTS or Fedora install before Win 2000
    Win 2000 will be almost useless... unless you are running it as a local file server.
  7. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    Pretty much a local file server is all I'm going after.
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Then it might work ok.
    What type/speed of RAM does it have?
    How many hard drives? size?
  9. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    Ummm.... good question on ram... maybe ddr2 but I think maybe even ddr1. It's 2 Xeon's @2.8 ghz. 4 scsi drives 2 73's and 2 37's.
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Not a bad machine even if its old.
    Where did you pick it up?
  11. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    Old work server. They were cleaning stuff out. I still need to post the pic of the inside.
  12. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Yes please do
    I'll post a pic of my Supermicro server
  13. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    Inside

    Attached Files:

  14. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    nice, do ya like that fancy PCI adapter for expansion cards?
    Crazy how they can fit two CPU's and all those hard drives in one small box.

Share This Page