1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oh AMD, you've done it again

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cloasters, Aug 8, 2019.

  1. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
  2. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    It will be interesting to see how Intel responds to this.
  3. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Its about time!
    I've been purchasing AMD for years now because of my budget builds. They are just plain cheaper!
  4. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    And now AMD's CPU's are also plain better! This reminds me of salad days when AMD released the Sledgehammer. I hope they'll be able to keep ahead of The Behemoth for two years again! Go AMD!!
  5. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    AMD's most expensive processors for servers and yes, supercomputers are what the recent headlines are all about. However, they are far ahead of the Beast in PC CPU's too!
  6. danrok

    danrok Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Currently on an Asus ROG Strix X470-F and an AMD Ryzen 7 2700x.

    Now my nvidia 1080 is really smooth at 60fps.

    Will get a CPU with more than 8 cores at some point.
  7. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Sho' you right! I wonder if a more or less equally priced AMD video card would benefit even more from your choices of processors?
  8. danrok

    danrok Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    AFAIK the AMD equivalent is a Vega 64 and it's about the same price but not as good.

    Do AMD's video drivers still suck I wonder?
  9. Kaitain

    Kaitain Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I get no screen tearing, stuttering, artifacts or blockies and good hardware acceleration with video using open-source amdgpu drivers on Raven Ridge (Vega 8 mobile), so based on a sample size of 1, I'd say they're fine.

    I get screen tearing with nV closed-source 340-series drivers on my older laptop.
  10. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48

    This is important to remember. Thank you very much

    Looks like they SURELY do. What's a matta wid dem peoples?
  11. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48

    Good to know, thank you Kaitain!
  12. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I have yet to try AMD drivers for years now.
    All of my gaming PCs have GeForce cards...
    There was one time when I was given an AMD card, it was a bit older, but still worked fine. I think it was back when I was dual-booting windows.
  13. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    my Nvidia cards all pretty much just work for me,,,so I haven't taken any chances with the money that's involved. were I rich I'd try everything that's out there, I just like hardware.":O}
  14. cloasters

    cloasters Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,986
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    "Were I rich?" Yeah, but then I wouldn't know this great Web site!

    How typical is it that using one of AMD's better than Intel processors STILL requires a GeForce video card? Can't wait for the better performance with a new AMD CPU--but this means NO AMD video card? Hello AMD--something NOT right here!!

Share This Page