1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New CPU

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by porporme, Jan 18, 2018.

  1. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    Just bought a new CPU for folding. Drum roll please! AMD FD8350FRHKBOX FX-8350 FX-Series 8-Core Black Edition Processor for $116. Sat-when chip arrives-I'll start an assembly line CPU swap.New cpu goes in the FX4300 (this rig) which will swap into th Phenom rig (committed F@H) that should help my Mint folding rig.
    Anybody need a AMD Phenom IIx4 965 Black Edition Quad for F@H?
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2018
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Awesome! That is going to be a great chip! 8 cores is amazing. And... duh, duh, daaaa... you won't be affected by the Spectre and Meltdown threats
  3. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    Great news! Thanks Boo.
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Next we need benchmarks on how fast that thing is!
    We want screenshots
  5. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    I haven't bench marked anything in years.What program would you prefer? I don't have any.
    I will be compareing F@H PPD naturally.
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Hmm... I'm not sure. I've never benchmarked anything.
  7. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    Well:) what a conundrum? Mabe if I get Sysoft Sandra. It used to be on AOA
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Chances are it won't run on newer OS's but you never know.
    What are you running Windows 10? Windows 7?
  9. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    Win 7====Hate win 10! I just downloaded Sandra from there site. It should fly-I'll let you know in a few.
  10. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ahh!
    If it doesn't run, try compatibility mode
  11. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    This took a while to run! Way to complicated It analysed every chip on board.
    No screen shots-I don't have any software for that either.
    Sandra ranked my rig #21849 Higher than 55%. I will figure out what that means when I plug in the new CPU.
  12. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Snipping Tool in Windows 7 works great for screenshots
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I'm stuck using Windows 10 at work for now.
    They gave me a Macbook pro as well, but I have installed Mint 18.3 on a loaner laptop and I'm able to do almost everything but Office on it.
    As a work-around, I can remote into a server and use Office on it: Outlook, OneNote, Word

    Ironically, I don't "hate" Windows 10 because it works for what I need it to do. I'm stuck with all the typical Enterprise policies, endpoint protection and asset software, but other than that... it works fine.

    As long as I don't have to purchase Windows ever again, I'll tolerate it.

    In fact, I've started using Linux for my Gaming LAN Parties at home as well. I still have Windows parititions but rarely boot to them
  14. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,492
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I have to add on...
    After using Linux every day for almost 5 years now, I can't stand Windows anymore.

    Anything Windows can do = Linux can do it
    Anything Windows can't Do = Linux can do it
  15. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    I am going back to Win 7----Did I mention how much I hate win 10?
    To top it off I install Mint (peer pressure!) on my folding rig.
    F@H ran great for a few hours and then both clients just craped out.
    Darn oh darn! I payed good money for an OS (did I mention Win 10?)
    I can't stand to have on any of my rigs!
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2018
  16. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    Thought I would satisfy Boomans request the best that I could. Is this what you had in mind?
    One screenshot(using Snipit tool you recommended. Thanks I didn't even know it was there!
    Folding went from 7to8 thousand to 15 to 16 thousand PPD!
    Me thinks this thing is a beast. it's one of those I've Leary of-it requires 125w to run and it runs a bit warm. we shall see! It's been folding all afternoon without a stutter-all eight cores at a blistering 100%

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 21, 2018
  17. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    Here is a speed Fan screen shot-Things run a bit warm!

    Attached Files:

  18. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    Those temperatures don't look even remotely possible/correct.

    Are you folding with the GPU?
  19. porporme

    porporme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello,Wa
    No. Majority Is with the Chrome client.
  20. ThunderRd

    ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Thailand, the Land of Smiles
    Home page:
    What is this Chrome client? I have no idea.

Share This Page