1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEC Mobile Pro 790

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Robbie, Nov 24, 2013.

  1. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    I've posted it on FB for sale and now I'll post it here. I've found a site where people are hacking these to run Netbsd. I only want $10 for it plus shipping. I have to admit it's a "toy" now a days. But maybe you'd be insterested in playing with it.

    Attached Files:

  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Whoa, what is that thing?
    Is that the first netbook?
    What are the system specs?
  3. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    Hell IDK... might be easier for me to just link them via google. LOL
  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    yes please
  5. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Windows CE? Geesh, how many versions of Windows are out there?
    168MHz CPU and 32 MB of RAM? Really?
    Wow an amazing 640x240 resolution and only 64,000 colors...
    OMG! Connects to your PC via serial cable or infared.... :(

    I've never seen one of these devices before. In its day this was probably a nice option since netbooks didn't exist yet. But no wireless connection, tiny Memory and resolution would make it almost impossible to use in today's standards.
    I would have rather used a laptop in 2001.

    Wow, technology has come a long way!
  7. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    Yes they did have WIFI, but you had to get a PCMCIA card to do wifi. But yes it is old tech. Been debating on wether or not to put linux on it.
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Even if you could put Linux on it, would the hardware be supported?
  9. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
  10. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    I think I might buy the wireless card for it and then jack up the price.
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Not a bad idea.
    FreeBSD might actually bring some life to it, but the install isn't quite as simple as a Linux distro.
    What does it have for hard drive? is the CF card the hard drive or is there something internal?
  12. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    An internal Rom, but you can add a CF and that acts like an HD. I have quit a few CF's floating around.
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Not bad. How large is the internal ROM?
    I think CF cards have gotten as big as 16 Gigs right?
    Larger?
  14. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    I kinda doubt with a device like this being as old as it is it would go past 4 gig. But I haven't tested it.
  15. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    True, with only 32 MB of RAM I'm sure the ROM is something like 256 MB.... but the CF expansion is nice as long as the hardware & OS support it.

    So I'm guessing you would put Linux on the CF card correct?
  16. Robbie

    Robbie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Desert of Cali
    Home page:
    Yeah, from what I read everything is on the CF card. I have a 512 that I'm pretty sure I've tested with it and it saw it just fine.
  17. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Another great feature of Linux... reviving old hardware from 12 years ago.
    Robbie likes this.

Share This Page