1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fedora...folding, not!

Discussion in 'General Linux Discussion' started by Daniel~, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Here's what I've done and done many times now I must say. But it's not working in Fedora my first time with Fedora. This was the first time .bash was already there.

    Attached Files:

  2. Gizmo

    Gizmo Chief Site Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Webb City, Missouri
    Home page:
    See the '#' at the beginning of the line you added to the .bashrc file? That's why the command doesn't work; that hash mark makes the line a comment.

    You'll also need to logout and back in for the change to take effect.
  3. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Thanks... I also noticed that Fedora does have it as Home/daniel Just as home

    also this line was there when I opened .bachrc "# User specific aliases and functions"

    Don't know it it's needed?

    I keep trying! ":O}

    Attached Files:

  4. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Boy am I getting tired of re-booting...my last failure:

    I've tried with and with out "daniel" in the line:

    alias fah='cd /home/daniel/.folding && ./fah6 -smp -verbosity 9'

    with and without "# User specific aliases and functions"

    I'm going to go work on Fedora Mint mate while you figure it out! ":O}

    Attached Files:

  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Man, you are bold!
    What do you think of Gnome 3?
  6. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    You know I just have got to like destros or I wouldn't be doing this...that said... nothing I've seen anywhere can touch Mint 15 and Mint Debain (they are nearly identical as far as their interfaces go) for user convenience and logical, intuitive setups.

    It's very close but I prefer Debain Mint for it's speed...just can't get it to run games properly...yet! ":O}

    So that leaves Mint 15 as the Queen of the May and she be very fine and phat!
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    That makes all the difference!
  8. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I've never had a distro not run games.
    Ubuntu does, Mint does, Fedora does....
  9. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    From the looks of things Debain use to, looks like something temporary, but I don't know this for sure.

    How to install Nvidia drivers...Don't cry Gizmo we WILL get past this!! LOL
  10. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    still no luck getting Fedora to fold...sigh
  11. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Doesn't Fedora have a sleep/suspend mode?
  12. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Absolutely! If you click log off icon, log out first, then click on sleep or standby
  13. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    How clever...God I get tired of clever...sigh.
  14. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    that was one of the frustrating things Fedora did with Gnome3.
    You can't just shutdown from the main desktop
    you have to log off, then shutdown... how lame!

    By the way, you CAN turn off Gnome3 and force Fedora to resort to Gnome2.
    I did it on my Fedora 18 server because I don't have a video card.
  15. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    How do I log off!!
  16. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,497
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Click on your name at the top right, then select log off
  17. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    In 19 I just get Restart or power off.
  18. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    I had to reboot to get this for ya..I knew no one would believe me! ":O}

    Lock doesn't put it to sleep either. This is in Gnome...I'll check Cinn. and KDE now.

    Attached Files:

  19. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    Both Cinn and KDE have a clear sleep/hibernate option, so this is just Gnome. I can't find the Screen shot pp in KDE...sigh...

    Boy! our picture upload is sure getting WAY slower than it use to be!

    Attached Files:

  20. Daniel~

    Daniel~ Chief BBS Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,129
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Greenwater WA
    Home page:
    My results are so bad in KDE as compared to the Gnome or Cinn options I'm going to re-install that drive a see if things improve.

Share This Page