1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bioshock Infinite now available on Linux!

Discussion in 'Games' started by allenskd, Mar 17, 2015.

  1. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    So it has finally come to this!

    Well , have fun people. Also there have been rumors that Specs Op is coming to linux as well. I really love Specs Op.
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I've read and seen some amazing results with this eON wrapper.
    I'm pretty impressed and plan to download Infinite myself to check it out.
    From what I have read on AppDB, Infinite is a Direct X 10 only game. So it doesn't run in Wine, but if it can run in eON, then it should run in Wine some day.
  3. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Well, eON != WINE. eON is closed source and I very much doubt virtual programming (developers behind it) have the best interests in contributing to the WINE project, maybe.
  4. Kladiator

    Kladiator Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    There was an interesting discussion on Reddit some time ago about eON, focused in part on the poor performance of Witcher 2, a game which was ported using that technology.

    The Bioshock Infinite port, however, seems to receive mostly praise.

    I bought the game on sale a while back because it was bundled with Bioshock 1 & 2, thinking I would never play it (I don't have Windows and Wine doesn't work, as far as I know, with DirectX10 games), so this was a nice surprise: I tested it for about 30 minutes, it plays smoothly and looks gorgeous.
  5. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Very good news!
    I'm going to download it over-night since its about 13 Gigs

    I would hope that anyone porting to Linux is willing to contribute to Wine and other possibilities for playing more games in Linux. There must be a specific reason they chose eON over a native port...

    I'm just excited that a direct x 10 game actually runs in Linux.
    This gives me hope with Just Cause 2, and Assassin's Creed III
  6. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Played a bit of it today, I must say it's really good. There's a few hiccups here and there but totally playable.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  7. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Yeah, after about 7 hours of download today, I finally got to run Infinite and it runs great on "medium" graphics settings. I may even try "high"
    I'm surprised that my GeForce 550 Ti runs it so well.
    very nice eON port of Bioshock Infinite
  8. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I can't even start Bioshock infinite. Other games run fine, so it's not an issue with my driver I think. And I think I have all the libraries needed to run games in steam.
  9. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Really? What are your specs?
  10. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Relevant specs:

    AMD FX-4130 4-Core Processor 3,9 GHz

    EVGA Nvidia 760 GTX 2 GB
    12 GB RAM
    booman likes this.
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Yeah, that should run Bioshock Infinite just fine... not sure what the problem is.
    What version of Nvidia drivers are you using?

    I'm using the old stable 331 drivers on my GeForce 550 Ti 2GB
    Infinite runs GREAT on my system
  12. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    349.12
  13. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    So what exactly happens when you click Play?
    does it launch at all?
  14. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    No it does not luanch at all. What I find strange is that The Witcher 2 starts without problems, and runs perfectly, and TW2 also use the eON wrapper.

    What is even more strange is that it didn't run on Manjaro when I hopped back to it a little bit (I keep clonezilla images of my systems), and it didn't run on Mint either.

    I'm starting to suspect that there was an update to the game that causes problems with my hw / hw drivers.

    I never managed to run Bioshock Infinite. With Borderlands 2 I did play it on Manjaro at one point but now that one doesn't work either, testet it on the same distros.
  15. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Hmm, that sounds like a more serious issue.
    There is a chance eON wrapper needs something that your OS isn't providing
    Borderlands 2 is an interesting problem as well.
    I haven't tried it in Mint yet, but Torchlight II runs perfectly.

    I wonder where you could post this problem? Its not cool because I don't have any issues at all.
    Do you have the 32-bit libraries installed as well?
  16. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    The Witcher 2 uses the eON wrapper as well.
    Torchlight II runs perfectly.
    Talos Principle runs perfectly.
    Pillars of Eternity runs perfectly.

    Yes I have installed the 32-bit libraries.
  17. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Ok, that IS strange
    Did you try verify game cache?

    The only place I can think of posting is here: 2K forums
    I don't even know if there is a way to see logs for eON wrappers.

    Here are two tips I read about when it comes to crashing.... maybe its related:
    • deactivate the "Steam-Overlay" for this game
    • limit the number of CPUs/Cores the game is running on through the Steam-Client:properties -> Set Launch Options -> taskset -c 0,2 %command%
  18. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I have verified the game cache. After writing down the games with problems and brainstormed on it I've concluded that it could be a memory leak issue with the later Nvidia drivers, that somehow only is an issue with certain games.

    I've tried deactivating the steam overlay, no luck. Going to try settinc cpu cores.

    Edit: Tried assigning CPU cores, no luck.
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2015
  19. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Its worth a try as long as it can be un-done
    What sucks is you can't change anything in eON to troubleshoot it.
    Like in PlayOnLinux, you can easily change WINE versions.
    Can you check if there is some kind of crash log in the game folder?
  20. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Yeah, I checked the log, and it confirmed my suspicious that it is a memory leak. After doing a bit of searching some people suggest that it's Nvidia problem with the newest drivers, and how it handles some games.

Share This Page