1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Baldur's Gate II: Enhanced Edition on Steam

Discussion in 'PlayOnLinux' started by Aryvandaar, Jun 21, 2014.

  1. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I already have BGII:EE running on a virtual machine but I would prefer to play it on Wine. Steam in Wine works, but I can't seem to get BGII:EE to run. It's quite the nutcracker.

    BGII:EE debug:

    I'm running Manjaro Linux with the 314 kernel, and I have the winbind package installed, and I even tried to install the secur32 library but no luck.
  2. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    I have seen screenshots of Baldur's Gate enhanced and it looks amazing.
    Since you are using Steam, did you disable the In-Game Community overlay?
    Does it even try to launch?
    When you launch in Steam, what tries to automatically install?
    ex: Dot NET Framework, VC Dist, Direct X
  3. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    I tried to disable steam in game but it didn't do anything. The game does try to launch, but it fails after a few seconds. I installed directx and other needed packages for BG2 so I don't get prompted for installation of those programs at launch any more.

    Current BG2 EE debug output:

  4. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Are you able to run any other games in Manjaro?
    I don't see any 32-bit errors, so you must have all the correct libraries installed.
  5. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Yes, I run The Witcher 2 in Steam on Linux.
  6. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    Did you install vcrun in the virtual drive? Might as well install all of them:
    • vcrun2005
    • vcrun2008
    • vcrun6
    • vcrun2010
    The "munmap_chunk() invalid pointer" error has something to do with glibc and C+
    I don't know much about it, but maybe glibc needs to be re-installed?
  7. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Yeah, I installed all those packages. I will look into my C++ and glibc packages. Thank you for the pointers.
  8. allenskd

    allenskd Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
  9. Aryvandaar

    Aryvandaar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Norway
    Hey guys. Want to read a funny story?

    I set up Neverwinter Nights 2 on PlayOnLinux today and I set a virtual desktop, and I thought, could be it so simple with Baldur's Gate 2 EE as well? Yes indeed it was! Game starts now, and I feel really dumb. :p
  10. Daerandin

    Daerandin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Northern Norway
    Home page:
    I had the same problem with Arkham Asylum when I first started testing it. If I didn't use a virtual desktop, the game would play sounds, but there just was no game window opening. Using a virtual desktop solved the problem.

    I actually also had a problem with Thief as well. It just crashed on launch, but using a virtual desktop let me play the game. So I always use virtual desktop now.
  11. booman

    booman Grand High Exalted Mystic Emperor of Linux Gaming Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    542
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Linux, Arizona
    Home page:
    don't feel dumb, Wine surprises me the same way over and over.
    Right now I'm having problems with Tower of Guns, and I have a feeling its something simple, but can't figure it out.
    This is the reason for our Guides, so people don't have to get frustrated with a game that won't run, when it really will.

Share This Page