1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linus apologizes, announces 'time off'

Discussion in 'News' started by ThunderRd, Sep 17, 2018.

• by ThunderRd, Sep 17, 2018 at 5:55 AM
  • ThunderRd

ThunderRd Irreverent Query Chairman Staff Member

Home page:
    Extracts from yesterday's LKML:

"I need to change some of my behavior, and I want to apologize to the people that my personal behavior hurt and possibly drove away from kernel development entirely."

"I am going to take time off and get some assistance on how to
    understand people's emotions and respond appropriately."

"This is not some kind of "I'm burnt out, I need to just go away"
    break. I'm not feeling like I don't want to continue maintaining
    Linux. Quite the reverse. I very much *do* want to continue to do
    this project that I've been working on for almost three decades."

"This is more like the time I got out of kernel development for a while
    because I needed to write a little tool called "git". I need to take
    a break to get help on how to behave differently and fix some issues
    in my tooling and workflow."

The complete post here:
    http://lkml.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/kernel/1809.2/00117.html
  • Categories:

Comments

Discussion in 'News' started by ThunderRd, Sep 17, 2018.

1. Daniel~
    No man knows himself. It is only by the effects he creates that he may judge what he has done and what is to come.

I feel Linus shows remarkable insight into where he is and what he must do now if his work is to be free of personal defect that can creep in upon the unwary.

This is a good thing that Linus does. This is the mark of a true leader, he remains willing to withdraw at any time if that is of benefit to those around him.

When one meets with success it becomes difficult to see where further improvement is still necessary.