1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got my first Raspberry Pi

Discussion in 'General Linux Discussion' started by Daerandin, Feb 22, 2015.

1. Daerandin

Daerandin Well-Known Member

Home page:
    So I got my first one earlier this week. I have previously not been very interested, but they had the B+ model at a store nearby, as well as proper microSD card and a nice case for it too.

I spent a day considering what distro to put on it, and ended up deciding on Slackware 14.1. Currently I have not really decided what to do with it, I've just been playing around, even running a full desktop through tigervnc although I quickly discovered that the B+ is not ideally suited for running graphical applications.

For now I have not really decided on a specific use scenario, I'm just using it to learn more about Slackware as well as other things I've never tried out before, like running a full desktop through a vncserver through ssh.
  2. allenskd

allenskd Active Member

Congrats! I'm looking forward to picking an ODROID-C1 myself. Just a note of caution, you might end up compiling packages with Slackware, and compilation time is so... dreadfully slow! Oh, since you are an Arch user there's also Arch Linux ARM.
  3. Daerandin

Home page:
    I know about Arch Arm, but I wanted to spend some time with Slackware which is why I went for it. I am well aware the compilation times might be slow in the Raspberry Pi, but Slackware does come with most stuff you would need as long as you are comfortable working without a graphical environment.

Once I get some proper ideas what I might do with these then I will probably get a much more powerful device. But for now it is a learning experience, and a lot of fun too.
  4. allenskd

allenskd Active Member

Well, just some ideas. I also thought of using it for VNC as well as these: